whenworldscollideph

Ramen Nagi

IMG_3863

Ever since Ramen restaurants have been popping up in Metro Manila, Tim and I seem to always have a reason to just give it a try. Usually, when one of us has the flu or had a stressful day at work, a hot bowl of Ramen soup would do the trick. Even on a slightly rainy day, while strolling inside the mall, we end up craving for Ramen lol.

IMG_3866

Now, we’ve declared Friday nights as Ramen night and most of the time we spend the start of our weekend after work at Bonifacio Global City. It’s practically a great place to roam around and find a lot of great places to eat. On this particular Friday night we decided to try out Ramen Nagi, which is located at SM Aura. We’ve heard quite a few good reviews so we just had to check it out for ourselves.

IMG_3860

I never really remember the names of the Ramen dishes and somehow in every Ramen joint, they have a different name to their dish but then sometimes the names on the menu would seem familiar. Tim and I would always go for the safest on the menu and that’s usually their best seller or the bowl of Ramen with slices of pork meat in it. So far, we find that ingredient to blend well with all the spices served in a bowl of Ramen soup.

 Ramen Nagi offers just a few dishes all of which have their distinct flavors and besides that, you get to lessen or add more flavors to your selected Ramen. Your served with a sheet with the four basic Ramen dishes offered; the BUTAO KING, the classic, BLACK KING that’s more on the seafood side, RED KING for those that love it spicy and GREEN KING for a more touch of green veggies to it.

IMG_3867

We decided to go for the classic since, you get to choose the ingredients and condiments just to meet your taste. Tim and I love it with a lot of flavour to it but not too intense that it ends up too salty already. For our soup base we decided to go stick with normal for the richness of the taste and garlic but extra heavy on the special sauce. Shoulder for the pork because leaner though belly usually gives out more taste to the dish and green onions for our veggie selection. Then when it comes to spiciness, it should not go over board, just a little kick especially when we share but if we had separate orders Tim would go for the mild and i’d go for extra spiciness, he can’t take the spiciness but he’d pretend he loves it spicy for me haha chivalry ain’t dead yet especially when it comes to Ramen lol! 😀

Last but never the least, if the bowl of Ramen does not come with a soft boiled egg or Tamago which they call it in Japanese, we would order as a side. You can add more of the other ingredients to your liking oh and before I forget, they would also ask how you would like your noodles and we pretty much love it soft.

IMG_3871

Untitled_HDR9

Our Ramen date will always be partnered with Gyoza, an pork dumpling that’s dipped in a special sauce. At Ramen Nagi, the Gyoza was really worth every bite, just the way we love it, a little crunch on the side but soft at the same time, meaty and so flavorful as you added its special sauce to it.

Untitled_HDR2

As for our Ramen, it may look bland in the picture but it was perfect, the right amount of saltiness and sweetness to it and a little kick from the spiciness and the pork slices were tender and the softness of the noodles just made all the ingredients seep through it and every sip was delicious. It was rich and very filling plus a little more texture to the soup, add the soft boiled egg as it yolk partly mixes with the soup base giving it a little more thickness.

Untitled_HDR11

 On the side, they have other condiments which you could add to your order. It would really depend on you love your Ramen, some love it mild a little close to bland, some wants a lot more meat or really spicy as for Tim and I, we love it rich and flavorful!

IMG_3892

Untitled_HDR7

Overall, what we love at Ramen Nagi, is the freedom to somewhat make our own Ramen base, adding as much toppings as we want but if you just want it simple, you could simply select from the four soup bases and it would probably taste as equally amazing and don’t worry if it’s your first time, the staff is very approachable, they would walk you through the sheet on how to get the kind of Ramen you want.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RamenNagiManila

 

38 comments on “Ramen Nagi

  1. lee ros
    March 9, 2015

    this is a nice restaurant. its good that you can choose your ramen. ill try to visit them in Aura.

  2. Fernanda
    March 10, 2015

    This place looks very nice! The dishes are very well presented and they look delicious!

  3. R U S S
    March 10, 2015

    I love love LOVE ramen ( I will never go tired of it ), but I have yet to try Ramen Nagi. There was a time that I would have it every Saturday for lunch. It kinda made me gain a bit of weight so I started to take it easy on the ramen. Despite that, I still love it anyways. PS. You took quite a nice shot of the noodles – good job!

    • timjuls
      March 10, 2015

      Thanks Russ 😀 I think we gained weight too haha! we just love Ramen too! 😀

  4. May De Jesus-Palacpac
    March 10, 2015

    I agree! BGC is a great place to walk around, I live around here and I love this place and never wanting to leave. 🙂 Anyway, Will take note of Ramen Nogi, that must be at the top floor.

    • timjuls
      March 10, 2015

      Yes it’s at the top floor. I think its opposite fitness first

  5. Sim @ Manchester Mummy
    March 10, 2015

    That looks absolutely delicious! I have never tried Ramen soup before but will do when I get the chance! Love the idea of filling in a form and handing it in! Sim x

    • timjuls
      March 10, 2015

      You should, it’s really delicious hehe. We love that too, other rests should come up with something like that it would probably interesting and fun 😀

  6. Fred
    March 10, 2015

    I tried this in Megamall. I think it was too expensive for its taste. However, it remains good enough to try at least once to see if you like it or not.

    • timjuls
      March 10, 2015

      Give it a try again, maybe the second time around it would taste great already hehe but I agree with you that it’s pretty expensive. So far from all the Ramen places we’ve tried this is part of our top list. Have you tried a Ramen place that you enjoyed, please share it! we would want to give it a try, just super fans of Ramen lol

  7. Kalliopi Sakellariou
    March 10, 2015

    So delicious I will ad it to my must go list!Thank you!

  8. Aisha Kristine Chong
    March 11, 2015

    Never been there but since I have been liking ramens lately – makes me want to give them a try.

  9. Ramen is like a world -wide phenomenon, no longer just a Japan thing. I realise that different ramen in different countries taste differently as it’s localised for the local palate!

    • timjuls
      March 11, 2015

      I’d want to try out an authentic Ramen from Japan. Probably it’s way different from all the ramen we’ve tried here in the Philippines 😀

  10. Franc Ramon
    March 11, 2015

    Ramen is really so popular now with more people trying it out and getting hooked with Ramen. Ramen Nagi looks like a great place for Ramen lovers.

  11. eliz frank
    March 11, 2015

    This looks like a fun place to get together with friends for a good meal. That Ramen dish looks delicious. What type of camera did you use? I love the crisp quality of your shots.

    • timjuls
      March 12, 2015

      We used a 60d cam 24-70lens and that time we actually tried rendering the images in HDR. 😀

  12. Vanessa Ally
    March 11, 2015

    Ramen Nagi seems to offer a great variety of meals which look so tasty and delicious, it is great that you can your base to the soup!

  13. phyliciamarie
    March 12, 2015

    My favorite there is the Green King, next is the one you tried, the original butao. I love how the green one reminds me of a good pesto pasta, only in ramen form.

  14. Yvonne Bertoldo
    March 12, 2015

    I’ve been wanting to try Ramen Nagi but I feel like it’s a bit expensive compared to some restaurants that offers Ramen in their menu. But how you described it in this post makes me want to try it out once and for all. ^^

  15. Jason Panuelos
    March 12, 2015

    Finally a great review with great photos! I tried Ramen Nagi recently and I enjoyed it a lot!! You made me crave for it again! 😀

  16. Papaleng Pagulong
    March 12, 2015

    Definitely a must visit restaurant for me. I simply love Ramen.

  17. Kylie
    March 12, 2015

    I love to eat ramen… This one looks so delicious.. HOpe I have the chance to try it out!

  18. I never thought about this being a restuarant and not just a product

  19. Otakore Literantadodist
    March 13, 2015

    That fill-up paper looks convenient where you’re going to decide yourself on what Ramen ingredients to put.

    I see in your picture there’s a lot of people eating there. Makes me want to drop by at this restaurant when i go along Bonifacio Global.

    • timjuls
      March 13, 2015

      You should give it a try. It’s located in SM Aura 🙂

  20. Seriously, with the way you presented your resto and food review, I cannot wait to visit the resto ASAP!

  21. Debarpan
    March 13, 2015

    The place looks great so as the dishes.Would love to visit there sometimes.

  22. Fatemah Sajwani
    March 13, 2015

    The food looks absolutely amazing! Great place.

  23. Franc Ramon
    March 14, 2015

    You get to choose hoe your ramen is made and you get to see the preparation. This is definitely a must try plus the ambiance looks great.

  24. theresa
    March 14, 2015

    I think I need a fix of ramen upon seeing those photos.

  25. Vanessa Ally
    March 14, 2015

    I’d love to try a Ramen from the Philippines, looks so delicious and mouth watering!

  26. Loudthinkin
    March 14, 2015

    The food looks delicious! I have heard so much about the Ramen restraunt but haven’t had the opportunity to try one yet…would love to do so soon cause i love noodles too!

  27. I love Ramen Nagi. We’ve tried it at their SM MOA Branch. I want to go back and try their Black King next time.

  28. Jojo Vito
    March 15, 2015

    your review and photos made me crave for Ramen…

  29. joy felizardo
    March 16, 2015

    Still for me Ramen Nagi is the unbeatable authentic Japanese Ramen.

  30. Sam
    March 16, 2015

    Superb photos, can I just say? You gave justice to the food!

  31. Mommy Pehpot
    March 18, 2015

    The place looks nice and judging by the number of people eating, I’m sure the ramen is good.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 8, 2015 by in food, timjuls and tagged , .
